Types of Auto Insurance
Arizona Car Insurance
Start your quote!
Arizona motorists face unique challenges that drivers in other parts of the country seldom experience, including raging flash floods that race across the desert floor and quick-moving dust storms that completely obscure visibility. What Arizona does share with every other state is having the legal responsibility to have required car insurance coverage.
Whether you’re planning a ride to take out-of-town visitors to tour the Grand Canyon or take a step back in history at Tombstone (scene of the OK Corral gunfight), make sure you’re on safe ground with proper Arizona car insurance coverage.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Arizona*
Drivers in Arizona are required to carry car insurance that meets or exceeds the following minimum levels:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: Minimum $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: Minimum $10,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: Minimum $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: Minimum $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
If you decide not to buy car insurance in Arizona and you own 10 or more vehicles, there’s another option you can choose to meet your financial responsibility requirements – a Certificate of Self-Insurance Application. Designed primarily for dealers or owners of corporate fleets, self-insurance certification requires extensive documentation and a surety bond of one million dollars.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
The Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) works together with state insurance companies, to track who has insurance coverage and who has cancelled or not renewed. If you re not able to show adequate proof of insurance coverage after receiving an inquiry from the MVD, your vehicle registration―and sometimes even your driver s license―will be suspended.
Do You Have to Insure Your Golf Cart?
Arizona state law requires you to insure only those vehicles you operate on public roads, including golf carts, mopeds, and motorcycles. But if your vehicle is temporarily non-operational―because you re repairing it, for instance, or due to seasonal storage―you don t need to maintain coverage until it becomes operational again.
Penalty for failure to comply with Arizona s Financial Responsibility requirements:
Failure to provide evidence of Financial Responsibility requested by a law enforcement officer investigating an accident or during a traffic stop can result in financial penalties as follows:
- $500 fine for the first violation and suspension of your driver s license, registration and plates for three months
- $750 fine for the second violation within 36 months and suspension of your driver s license, registration and plates for six months
- $1,000 fine for the third violation within 36 months and suspension of you driver s license, registration and plates for one year
- To reinstate these privileges, you may be required to pay fees and submit future proof of Financial Responsibility to the MVD. The future proof requirement is most commonly an SR-22 issued by an insurance company.
Driving in Arizona may sometimes be under the control of Mother Nature. Car insurance is under your control. Don’t risk fines and suspension of your vehicle’s registration. Call now for your free
Fast, Free Car Insurance Quotes AZ
Find out how much you can save on Arizona car insurance by requesting a free car insurance quote today. Enter your zip at the top of the page to get started, or give us a call at 800-777-5620.
*Please note state minimums may change from time to time. Check with Arizona DMV if you have additional questions about current state minimums.